There is a gloriously eclectic feel to this little museum with many exhibits given by Tewkesbury residents. Learn about the Neolithic period, the Battle of Tewkesbury in 1471, and about the Antarctic Hero, Raymond Priestley, who went to the Antarctic with Ernest Shackleton in 1908 and with Scott in 1910.
One of the very special and unique displays in the museum is the fairground display, built by AE Salt in the 1950s after he retired as a marine engineer. The miniature fairground reminds visitors of the historic Tewesbury Mop Fair. It has four hundred carved human figures, and before it was exhibited in Tewkesbury, it was travelled around the country and was highly acclaimed.
This beautiful 17th century building was given to the council in 1956 by Sir George Dowty and Martin Cadbury on the understanding that it would be used as the Town Museum.
Nearest car park is Rails Meadow in Howells Road. Unfortunately, due to the age of the building, there is limited disabled access.
April – August: Tues to Fri 1pm – 4pm Sat 11am – 4pm
September – October: Tues to Fri 12pm – 3pm Sat 11am to 3pm
November – March: Sat only 11am – 3pm
Free admission for all the family including the dog. Donations help them to keep their museum going.
Photo Credits: © Tewkesbury Museum
For further information please visit: http://www.tewkesburymuseum.org