Butcher Row House Museum
The museum in Church Lane was one of a row of 15 burgage houses and shops, many of them butchers which ran down the middle of what is now the High Street. They were bought out by public subscription in 1830 and one or two were re-erected elsewhere. This one was re-sited in the back garden of 14 High Street until it was moved to its present position.
The Museum contains a wide range of artefacts connected with the town and its surrounding environs including items relating to the Battle of Ledbury in 1645 and a small collection of musical instruments donated by a local collector including a hurdy-gurdy, a Tibetan pipe fashioned from a thigh bone and an unusual Egan harp.
On show are bygones of all kinds including a small selection of objects on the aptly named Puzzle Shelf which baffle many visitors and the popular boot bath with an interesting social history to tell of the town
Much historical information is available for researchers or those merely interested in the history of the area including copies of historic documents.
The museum is open daily from 11am to 5pm from Good Friday to 30 September and from 11am to 3pm in October. Admission is free but donations are welcome from those who wish to show their appreciation of this fascinating, volunteer run museum.
Opening Times: Opening times Easter – September daily 11am – 5pm. October daily 11am – 3pm
Photo Credits: © Copyright Butcher Row Museum