01625 527468 quarrybankmill (at) nationaltrust (dot) org (dot) uk
This mill has been superbly restored by the National Trust and boasts a large estate, which was built in 1784 by the mill’s original owner, Samuel Gregg. Discover the gripping story of the mill workers and entrepreneurs who played a big part in the Industrial Revolution.
This cotton mill was notable for its use of unpaid child apprentices who were housed on the estate in the Apprentice House. Visitors can take a tour there and experience what it was like to be a pauper child at the mill.
Witness one of Europe's most powerful working water wheels which kept the mill running for years, or enjoy a peaceful walk through Beech woods on the banks of the River Bollin. A visit here makes an interesting and fascinating day out for all of the family.
Opening Times: Please visit their website below for opening times (links directly to the opening times page).
Photo Credits: © Copyright National Trust.
For further information please visit: www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Grasshoppers have five eyes.